2013 Spring Anime part 2!!

Nyaaaaa~ Sorry it took so long for me to update part 2 of the 2013 Spring anime news. I’m going to make this fairly short and concise as I notice I tend to overwrite my summaries somehow. *gomen gomen* I’m currently writing this a2t :51 am so I apologize for any grammar mistakes, I don’t have enough energy to proofread my writing. T^T

I’ve decided to organize the animes this time with 4 different categories. The season 2’s, the LN adaptions, the manga adaptions and the originals (meaning it was an original work not adapted from either media and instead were made by the animation studios themselves)

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

THE SEASON 2’s

Oreimo Season 2 a.k.a Ore no Imōto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai Season 2 !

1210064

Most of you have been waiting for me to write a post on the second season of Oreimo and I couldn’t be more happier! ^ ^ I’m super excited to be able to see Kuroneko again! After that last episode (SPOILERS) with Kyou and Kuroneko, I just couldn’t wait for the second installment.

For those of you haven’t watched Oreimo or have heard of it but don’t quite know what it’s about, here’s just a basic story. > <

Oreimo or My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute tells the story about Kousaka Kyousuke who maintains a cold and distant relationship with his sister Kirino. Surprisingly, he comes across a DVD case that contains a H-game! Under her tough, pretty and smart exterior…who knew that his 14 year old sister can be so…….!!! Through complications, trust and friendship, we enter the world of Orimo and the growing relationship between this unusual brother and sister pair.

Oreimo comes off as an “otaku” comedy with a slice of reality. It expresses a view point that watching eroge games or having an interest in the perverted genre is alright, and that there are numerous amount of people who share the same interest as yourself. Just those points by itself is why you should go to your nearest search engine and type Oreimo episode 1 ! Now!

tumblr_mkum9mrjZE1rcj8eco1_500

Yes:
The overall atmosphere of the atmosphere itself is so funny and heartwarming. With an addition of a variety of characters and some of anime’s funniest and embarrassing situation, Oreimo is definitely a must watch for anime lovers.
Imoutos! You know you love them!
The animation quality is superb! Glossy, complete, colorful and well designed.

No:
Hmm…considering a 14 year old girl watching/playing adult video game…this is definetly not a show where either 1.) Your offended by the content or 2.) Your a 14 year old yourself. BEWARE!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CshdT1uZ_Yc

Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W Season 2 !

70aa0efb444478e687270fc53e4c113d1365351893_full

As I’m happy for Oreimo’s second season, I can’t help but scream to see Nyaruko back!! Haiyore! Nyaruko-san is about a Cthulhu-deity of chaos who takes the form of a silver haired girl named Nyaruko. Mahiro Yasaka on the other hand is just your normal teenage boy (as light novels always like to start off with) until he is attacked by a lovecraftian alien one night. With the help of Nyaruko, and a thorough explanation of how H.P Lovecraft’s fictional works are indeed REAL ALIEN RACES, she and her other alien partners help to prevent Yasaka from being kidnapped by an alien trafficker. What….the….heck right?! XD

The first time I ever watched this series, I couldn’t help but think that Japanese people really love Lovecraft’s works. I mean, Saya no Uta, Fraken Fran, Demon Bane and this as well? Personal fetish maybe? Surprisingly, it’s one of the few light novels that I’m still reading at the moment as the comedy mixed in one of my favorite book genres always seems to prevent me from putting the book down.

Arghhh!! And it was released on the 8th!! I’m going to be staying up till late today just to make room to watch the first episode T_T

Yes:
Our heroine, Nyaruko-chan, is probably one of the most adorably funny characters I have ever watched. Her optimistic personality as well as her strange way of thinking (you will not believe what things are going through her head)
Fans of Lovecraft, enjoy your Cthulos Mythos universe with a hint of comedy.

No:
The story is very “light novel-ish”. It has a basic story but with a few different settings and theme. But you can feel just how predictable and simple the concept is.

Uta No Prince Sama – Maji Love 2000% (April 2013)

UTAPRI 2ND

Is this the year of bishounens??! O.o Once Amnesia was over, I wasn’t expecting another reverse harem for quite awhile but it seems as though Uta no Prince Sama is releasing their second season.

For those of you who don’t know the story yet, our main heroine Nanami Haruka, wants to become a critically known song writer. The school that she attends, which is known for the bishounens, has a mandatory rule that each aspiring song writer must be paired with idol but Nanami is paired with 6! Another rule is that she is not able to date any one of her partner. Pffft!! Rightttttttttt. We all know there are so much more you those guys can do than “date” her XD

And….uh…I don’t know if the creators wanted to switch from a girl’s harem to THIS but……. ahahaha #_#

omg omg 5  omg 2 omg 3

Yes:
Boys, Boys, Boys. Pretty Boys. Must I say more? 😛
Overall, I think the color theme of the story is a must watch. The anime is based on becoming idols and chasing one’s dream, so there’s a lot of sparkles, love dovely colors, strobe lights, all the works.

No:
✖ Oh my goodness. Please make them dance more manly. Please. Hip thrusting and booty swaying is great…for girls.

Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride (April 5th 2013)

Hyakka_Ryouran_Samurai_Bride

Hyakka Ryouran : Samurai Bride is the sequal to Samurai Girls, a story about a boy named Yagyuu Muneakira who rebels against the student council who have been oppressing the schools due to the Tokugawa Shogunate regime. By his side are girls whose ancestors are famously known samurai heroes.

I didn’t need to tell you the story and you’d know it was a harem! Unfortunately as a previous viewer of the first season, I have to inform you that there are both a censored and uncensored version on the anime. The reason I said “unfortunately” was because unlike “fan service” censoring (e.g having a leg block a pantie shot) the parts are censored with tiny black dots, which not only distracts the viewers but it’s actually pretty annoying.

I don’t know if they are going to do the same thing with the second season, but if you don’t like any censoring your pleasure…ehem I meant the beautiful artwork, then this might make you feel a little bit frustrated.

Yes:
The animation is produced by ARMS, the same studio that brought you Elfen Lied, Pandora, and Trinity Blood (Production Coopertation) . I can assure you that they are pretty good at drawing battle sequences.
Great artwork! All the heroines look adorable!

No:
✖ Let’s face it, this is a boy’s anime. Fan service, harem, cute girls, things bouncin’ up and down. If your more into deep stories, a core plot and unpredictable characters, then I don’t recommend this anime.

THE LIGHT NOVEL ADAPTIONS

Hentai Ouji Warawanai Neko (April 13, 2013)

Hentai.Ouji.to.Warawanai.Neko.full.874641

Youto Yokodera is a pervert. He’s always following his desires but for some reason, instead of people being disgusted by them, he gets misunderstood as “doing good deeds”. Therefore Youto decides to pray to the cat statue, known for it’s mysterious wish granting powers, that he will be able to express his lustful thought whenever and whereever he wants. Along the way he meets Tsukiko Tsutsukakushi, who has a wish that is the exact opposite of Youto; that she will be able to hide her true intentions.

Okay, basically an anime about someone who WANTS TO EXPRESS THEIR PERVERTEDNESS??! What??!

For Seiyuus, we have the adorably voice Yui Ogura which most of you might known from High School DxD as Katase and Ro-Kyu-Bu! as Hinata. Let me just say this, Yui-san voice, both as a seiyuu and in real life, is extremely anime like. Small, childish and kawaii. Yuki Kaki on the other hand had voiced Shuu in Guilty Crown, Lyon in Fairytail, Yoh in Deadman Wonderland, Alibaba in Magi, and Issei in Highschool DxD as well as Eren in Shingeki no Kyojin, my current favorite anime. The one special thing about the seiyuu is that they have such a strong chemistry after voicing main character roles in both Ro-Kyu-Bu! and Highschool DxD that I think they’ll do an amazing job with this anime.

Yes:
A title with “hentai”, “ouji”. and “neko”? Hmmmmm….
Yui Ogura and Yuki Kaji as a seiyuu?? Holy crap!!

No:
✖ I admit, the only thing I see in the story is ecchi, slice of life, moe and comedy. Standard much?

Red Data Girl (April 2013)

RDG .Red.Data.Girl.full.1422870

Considered more as a “novel” instead of a light novel, Red Data Girl is based on a Japanese Shinto legend. Our protagonist, Suzuhara Izumiko, has been raised and protected in a shrine located in Kumano mountains. When she decides to leave her isolated life and relocate to the big city. Her guardian, Sagara Yukimasa, tells Izumiko that she should move to Tokyo and has his son Miyuki become her personal servant. For Life. (You ain’t going anywhere dude) Miyuki and Izumiko are polar opposites but as the story progresses, they begin to learn more about each other; Izumiko as the yorishiro of a Himegami goddess and Miyuki as the guardian yamabushi to the Izumiko household.

I didn’t watch the anime yet but I did pick up the manga. The artwork is adorable and the way the sceneries are displayed are amazing! I might give this anime a shot.

Yes:
The story by itself looks quiet interesting, and I haven’t heard of a novel turning anime before.
Great scenery work and they way they portray Japanese tales. Very traditional and elegant.

No:
✖ There are a lot of Japanese legends and wording in this anime, which might make viewers quite confused.
The characters come out as unlikable at first, Izumiko being the doormat and Miyuki being the sadist bastard. If you don’t like animes where the characters start out like this and gradually become better (Progessing storyline) then don’t take a chance with this anime.

THE MANGA ADAPTIONS

Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge (April 3, 2013)

animepaper.net_picture_standard_untitled_253937_suemura_preview-9921ae5c

Sure, there is the imouto, the sister complex, but have you ever thought of….a fetish for cutting hair?! Meet Kiri Haimura, a boy who has a weird obsession for seeing his scissors, the Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge, cut through people’s hair. If you didn’t think that was weird enough, he meets a girl named Iwai Mushanokōji who, bipolarly opposite to his hobbie, is prevented from cutting her head because of an ancient curse. But did that stop him? Nah. Enter the “Hair Queen” game, an old killing game where weilders of the “killing goods” are on the hunt for Iwai. Can a fetish boy save this modern day Sadako? We will find out!

Yes the story does sound…..very very weird, but it interested me nonetheless. I will post my review on the first episode in the near future, but for now….What are your personal opinions on hair fetishes?

Yes:
The coloring style really sets the mood of the story, giving it a sort of dark and mysterious feeling.
I don’t know if this is a plus or minus, but–as I’ve said it a hundred times–this anime is very weird! If your looking for something just randomly outrageous, try watching the first episode of the anime. I mean it….weird!!

No:
✖ This is my personal opinion but I am annoyed by the heroine’s sin gle hair coming across her face. Ack!! I just wanna wrap it around her ear or find a clip for her !! O.o

Aiura (April 9, 2013)

aiura_radiobanner02_unite_zps91916659

Adapted from a 4-koma, Aiura is about the normal yet not normal lives of Amaya, Iwasawa, and Uehara. Basically the motto is “what happens when there is nothing happening.” So what we’re going to see here are 3 ditzy girls just….goofing around in high school! Simple yet hilarious!

The first time I saw the preview to anime, I felt very familiar with the artwork. My first guess was that it looked similiar to Kyoto Animation, but I knew that the story was too “cutesy” for Kyoto’s taste. Then I noticed it looked like the same artwork that Sword Art Online has! After some extensive research, I found out they came from the same studio! Liden Films. Another thing I was surprised to see was that Ryousuke Nakamu directed it. We’re talking about the guy who directed High School of the dead and Death Note. Pffft! Mind Blown !! @__@

Yes:
Love Azumanga Daioh? Similar feeling with similar crazy girls XD
Liden Films have a great animation style, all with adorable characters and realistic movements.

No:
✖ This is a feel good series with a bit of the slice of life genre attached to it. If your not up for a day by day episode, then…you probably will be bored out of your mind with this.

Namuichigiwa no Muromi San (April 2013)

629168-namiuchigiwa_no_muromi_san

Follow the adventures of Muromi-san, a mermaid who so happens to speak with a kansai dialect!

I don’t know much about Tatsunoko Production, so I can’t give you much info about that. Although, I’m quite interested in the voice actors as we have Yukari Tamura (Nanoha in Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha and Pandora Hearts as Alice) as Muromi-san and Takahiro Mizushima (Furuichi Takayuki in Beelzebub) as Takurou, a boy in a highschool fishing club that catches Muromi-san in a net.

For some reason….the story reminds me on Ponyo….

Yes:
If you’ve ever seen Ika Musume, then you know what kind of feeling people of the sea bring….except this series is without the world domination portion of course.
Muromi-san is hallarious in the manga! Looking forward to how creative the animators are going to be about her expressions, as well as emphasize her Kansai tongue.

No:
✖ Being mostly a comedy and slice of life, it leaves me questioning if this anime is worth my time or not.

THE ORIGINALS

Kakumeiki Valvrave (April 12, 2013)

22 11

Due to the development of space cities, over 70 percent of the human population is living in space. Our protagonist, Haruto, is a student in Jioru, a neautral nation between the Dorushia Military Pact Federation and the Atlantic Rings United States a.k.a ARUS, powers. (Hmmm….Britania and now the United States…the west is getting pretty preoccupied with mecha) When the Dorushia army starts invading the nation, Haruto encounters the mysterious weaponized “Valvare”

If the blurb didn’t give you much of a hint (for me it didn’t anyways) here is the anime’s PV:

Kakumeiki Valvrave is produced by Sunrise  the same studio that brought you mecha series such as Gundam, Crush Gear Turbo,Vision of Escaflowne, and famous series such as Cowboy Bebop, Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion, Gin Tama, and Accel World. O’ comon. From all those name, you know the animation is going to be good!Another thing is that the anime is directed by Kō Matsuo and written by Ichirō Ōkouchi, who wrote Code Geass. Umm, I have to contain myself from letting out a crazy squeal but…..IT’S GOING TO BE EPIC!! 

You know your gonna get a quality mecha animation since it comes from the same studio as Gundam!

Written by Ichirō Ōkouchi??! That’s straightforward right there.

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

And that concludes our part 2 spring manga list!!Starting from May, I will also be posting another anime list including some of your favorite manga/LNs/Games that might get animated in the coming month!!

Stay tuned and as always…..Nyaaaaaaaaaa~

12 thoughts on “2013 Spring Anime part 2!!

  1. Oreimo s2: OH YEAHHH. It’s good to see the new studio kept the look and feel of the first season.
    Hentai Ouji: the main character, he wishes to be honest instead of pulling a facade(correct me if I’m wrong). And the other girl indeed, doesn’t want her emotions to show. As for the animation, unfortunately it is done by J.C. Staff. I don’t know if they can pull it off to bring kantoku’s artwork to life properly. People who are familiar with the works of Kantoku won’t be surprised by certain themes and topics you’ve mentioned:p
    RDG: P.A. Works, love it. Animation, top notch again. The overall theme can be a little bit confusing or hard to grasp for people that aren’t familiar with Japanese folklore and legends.
    Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge: The first episode actually surprised me. The animation and storytelling was pretty original. The synopsis is a little weird and may give a wrong impression.
    Aiura: the pic in the post actually looks pretty darn cute xd
    Keep us posted about your findings:p

    • Oreimo s2: Yesss !! ^ ^ I always loved how vivid their animation was! Great to see it coming back so strongly!

      Hentai Ouji: Indeed you are correct! After watching the Shana series by J.C. Staff I was also disappointing how incomplete they made it. So many things were lacking from the orignal LN and the out of focus distortion on the artwork frustrated me. I did, however, enjoyed their Toaru Kagaku no Railgun series. I can see that Kantoku is THAT kind of mangaka…ahahaha XD

      RDG: I always loved watching a series involving japanese culture though. I feel that some animes have gone off too mainstream and just sticking with basic genres instead of exploring their own culture. Great visuals indeed ! 😀

      Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge: Weird, weird, did i say weird? XD But interesting nontheless.

      Aiura: Aren’t they? I need to catch up with all the episodes now > >:Keep us posted about your findings:p

      🙂 I will!! Thank you for always reading and replying my post!! *internet hug*

      • Haha no problem, somewhat familiar interests I think. Your writing is lighthearted with its own style, the ups and downs at the end of the series you discuss works for me. Receiving feedback is always nice from readers.

      • > < Wheeeee!! You have made my day ninety!!
        I try my best at writing, though I'm still struggling to have what I write make more sense. I sometimes think that I'm just blabbering =__=
        Your way of writing is very inspirational as it not only has it's own style, but a distinct tone. I can feel your emotions pouring out of your writing as well. Very amazing, i can't even describe it!

        Thank you so much for your support!! Fightooooo!!

      • Well there are many techniques to improve your writing:p
        Such as:
        -Free writing: just write what comes to mind, not paying attention to logic. It helps freeing the mind.
        -Drafts: maybe write down the points you want to discuss. With the draft you can see if its in logical order and makes notes what you want to discuss within each topic. I must admit, I just start writing or formulate a title and brainstorm what I want to fit within the topic of the title
        I think its handy to keep your drafts a few days in the drafts section and just reread it a few times.

        And thanks. Remember writing is for fun, you’re not writing a thesis or whatever. The followers you have are reading your blog for a reason:p

  2. UtaPri: this – “Oh my goodness. Please make them dance more manly. Please. Hip thrusting and booty swaying is great…for girls.” I LOLed at your comment there but I seriously agree. I actually kept on laughing throughout their OP performance there :))
    Dansai Bunri: I haven’t this one but I’ll definitely do so later ’cause many people had been goinga round how good it is :3

    • ^ ^ Ahahaha, I know right?? I don’t know where the animators were going with those moves but…..uhhh….I guess they’re trying to make it look cute??

      😀 It is a very mysterious anime, but the animation quality is very good and the overall darkness tone was a very good match !! Let me know what you think !! 🙂

  3. I read the summary to Valvrave and it sounded another me-too post-Gundam clone like Dragonar.

    But being a sucker for military drama, I watched the first episode.

    Maybe it was the low expectations, but I actually found it mostly watchable.

    Of course Valvarave hit the cliche button more than a few times, but there was just enough spark in the characters and over direction to sit it out for a few more episodes.

    Here’s to hoping the production ducks the remaining giant robot cliches.

    ***SPOILER***

    Oh, and vampire overdog mecha pilot.

    Huh.

    Who saw that coming?

    Another reminder to *always* read the fine print.

    • The anime did seems like Gundam’s “little brother” or Dragonar’s “cousin” Maybe it’s because it was made by the same studio? Sunrise?

      I really am looking forward to them crawling out of their cliche box with the predictable “life gone upsidedown” scenario. I

      And is it me or is Valvarave a sort of mecha/space zombie??
      O.O I guess the pilot itself made me want to watch it again. It’s pretty cool!! 😀

      I am waiting to watch Namuichigiwa no Muromi San until I review all the first episodes of the animes I posted.

      ***SPOILER***

      My mouth dropped when I saw that mecha. So many what, why, and how questions popped up in my brain after that and I think I had to rewind the video just to see if I was seeing it right XD

      “Another reminder to *always* read the fine print.”
      Ahahaha, a hidden learning experience i see !!

      It was surprising to see a character die on the first episode as well. I mean one minute your trying to remember her name and then….uh oh…never mind

  4. Pingback: Aiura, episode 1. Three minutes? Really? | Thoughts on anime

Leave a Reply

