First Episode Reviews of 2013 Spring Anime!!

DISCLAIMER : I apologize for having some still photos and gifs combined. I can’t figure out how to work this dang thing! If any of you know how, please feel free to share T^T

It has been a week since my last post! A week! Where the heck have I been?? O.O

Well, after watching the first episodes of…and I’m surprised to say that after watching the first episode of a certain anime…I have dropped it. Yup. On the first episode, and I will tell you the reason why. So…without further or due, let’s go on to our first review !

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

Amnesia Episode 1

Image

THE EPISODE : I know the anime finished airing but I couldn’t help watching the first episode one more time.

My opinions on the animation first was how the animation was very professionally drawn, with the eyes being my focus of attention. They were just so beautiful! I became so preoccupied with trying to examine how they were colored in that I missed some conversations the characters had. The only thing was when the characters were out of focus, they lost all artwork and they then became distorted. Me being a fan of animators putting in every little detail on their characters, no matter how far or out of focus they are, was quite disappointing. Brain Bran had amazing artwork when it came to close up animation, but it seems to me they became lazy after halfway throughout the anime. There was even a scene where a guy was switching to either being taller or shorter than a nearby tree.

There were some other downfalls the story had for me however. First would be the lack of personality our main heroine has. Ok, I know you can be confused after having no memory of who you are or where your at…But having amnesia is not an excuse for not having a personality. (@_@) Ai ya yaaaa!

THE OPENING CREDITS : Loved it! Beautiful opening credits with an amazing vocals as provided by Nagi Yanagi. If I could somehow find a way to buy the score to the anime I would. My keyboard suffered a major pushing attack after I constantly kept repeating the song over and over. (rest in piece play key)

THE CONCLUSION : Although the anime did have it’s somewhat flaws in between, the sound quality, character designs and the animation studio’s determination to grant it’s fan a little service towards their OTPs was highly respectable. A key aspect that this anime did amazingly was the fact that it left your heart pumping and thumping whenever a little physical contact came in between our heroine and her 5 bishies. And let’s face it…who wouldn’t want to be in her shoes?

I give Amnesia a rating of NYAA-GOOD!! 3/5

Hataraku no Maou Sama! Episode 1

Image

THE EPISODE : Me myself being not familiar with the light novels, I could say that my first impression on Hataraki no Maou Sama was great!

Our story begins as a very serious and tense introduction on how evil Maou Sama is/was, so much that I was wondering if I was watching the correct anime or not. (O.o) As the story progresses to Earth, we then begin to experience the comedy field, one were our Lord Satan is working at McRonald. 😄 (their twist on our little own McDonald) The storyboard writting in my opinion was quite snappy, it didn’t hold out for too long to try to explain where things were going or how this lead to that. Instead it was to the point and firm, a trait that I think most animes have trouble trying to do. (Either they’re elaborating TOO much on the matter or they cut TOO much corners in telling a story) The characters complimented each other well and it was hilarious to see Maou sama turn from a refined demon king into a silly shonen protagonist.

There was however certain scenes which left me questioning after viewing. Scenes such as when Maou Sama begins learning Japanese. At first him and his underling/partner speak their native language (I’m guessing it’s Gibberish as some random words in different languages were thrown in there) but then switch over to speak Japanese. Once they meet the locals however, they begin trying to communicate with them but with little avail…which left me wondering. I thought that they already have learned it? If so, then when did they learn it? There were no scenes which indicated them learning the language. Did they use their magical powers?

THE  CREDITS : There weren’t exactly any opening credits to begin with, just an introductory story of how our main hero (well, he’s suppose to be a villain but you get where I’m going) ends up on Earth. I don’t know if there is going to be another opening on the second episode but for now, I have no comment.

THE CONCLUSION : Hataraki no Maou Sama epsiode 1 left me wanting for more. The fact that the episode ending with a surprising outcome only increased my appetite for the next epsiode. If your looking for a friendly, feel-good comedy, go check Hataraku no Maou Sama out. ^ ^

Hataraku no Maou Sama is certified NYAA-AWESOME!! 5/5

Devil Survivor 2 Episode 1

Image

THE EPISODE : The first episode of Devil Survivor starts off by basically introducing the whole concept of the devil survivor franchise. It explains what it is, who is involved, how it came to be…the works. Being a gamer of the series, I could see that the animators have shortened and elaborated on the storyboard, making the series not overly repetitive for past otakus while still maintaining the basic plot for first time viewers, something that I have to say is greatly admirable. The story will most likely turn out to be a progressive storyline as we see that the characters are still afraid and reluctant to help utilize their powers to aid the human population. We can expect to see some character development here and there so if your beginning to become annoyed by certain characters, wait until they get their time to shine before deciding to drop this series.

I enjoyed how the episode evoked a sense of mystery to the viewers involving the Nicaea cooperation. Other than us having to hold onto our seats for our heros to survive from man eating monster, we also have to try and think…”Why the heck would a company release a youtube video of people before they die?!”

THE CREDITS : The opening song and design was an ideal match for the anime itself. I especially liked how in the end it showcased all the characters you are to encounter throughout the game and how they didn’t include a slideshow the game’s monsters itself. (whew, thank goodness! We wouldn’t want another pokemon rip off now would we?) I did however like the ED more than the OP, mostly because the singer’s voice is so sexy….uhhh…i mean, it was artistic! Yeah that’s it! (」゚ロ゚)」

THE CONCLUSION :Animation wise is good as for the demon summoning effects which I am happy to say the special effects looks great! It doesn’t look to cheesy or overused and the color patterns match the darkness of the episode perfectly. If your looking for a series to kickback and just watch to ease your tiresome day with a simple plot, but with still a eerie mysterious atmosphere, by all means try Devil Survivor. But if your more into in-depth characters with a hidden past, plot twists and a complex storyline, this is not for you.

I give Devil Survivor 2 a rating of NYAA-GREAT! 3.5/5

Karneval Episode 1

Image

THE EPISODE : I have to give credit to the voice actors! The voices had perfectly matched the character’s personality perfectly. Perfectly I’m telling you. We’ve got Kamiya Hiroshi (Araragi in Nisemonogatari, Izaya in Durarara!! ), Shimono Hiro(Keima in the World God only Knows), Ono Daisuke (Midori-kun from Kuroko no Basketball), Miyano Mamoru (my personal favorite and Riku in the Kingdom Hearts Series), and Suwabe Junichi (Greed in Fullmetal Alchemist). 

The setting was amaaaaazing. I just love an anime with an ahistorical Victorian background. The way the animators used such vibrant colors and emphasized the use of magic was a delight to see. In addition, the story reminded quite a bit of the book “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern. Hmmm….Karneval?? = Circus?? Coincidence??! As for the characters themselves, the art is elegant and the action movements are drawn very gracefully, given the example of Tsukumo’s kick jump. Karneval and Amenisia are really neck and neck for having the best drawn anime eyes, even I couldn’t come on a conclusion to which one I like best.

The only thing that was bugging me with the first episode is that the animators decided to make Nai’s highlighted features more noticeable (in this case, his cat-like side hair) a little too….den??! I mean, it looked pefectly balanced when it was drawn in the manga but having it being emphasized  a bit much seemed to be like he became either a relative of Yugi Mouto from Yu-Gi-Oh or that they simply went to the same hair salon.

Also…it in my great delight to say that the animators had a little fun with the episode in hinting a Yaoi pairing. A feminine shouta hancuffed and dominated on a bed gets rescued by a robin hood like hero?? Ahahaha, you know where this is going.

THE CREDITS : Okay. Hands down. From all the anime opening and ending I have reviewed t day, I’m going to have to say that Karneval is the best. The opening was given a sort of post-Victorian type tone with orchestrator music and what’s makes it so different was how the title was actually tied in between the story line. The ending , although quite simple, was eye candy; a colorful background with a sort of sparkly-poppy effect emphasizing on the meaning of “Karneval”

THE CONCLUSION : Karneval is a promising plot, meaning does not introduce it’s views on the series plot until latter out in the storyline.

I give Karneval a rating of NYAA-VERY GOOD! 4/5

Date A Live Episode 1

Image

THE EPISODE : I haven’t read the light novel myself but when I saw Kotori-chan change from a cute desirable little sister with a bro-complex to a sadistic commander, I was shocked! O.o Did not expect that coming. Overall, I think that the one thing that somehow made me enjoy the series is it’s wide variety of character personalities. We have a cold…. By far I would have to say mine is the lolicon vice commander Kyouhei

Plotwise, I thought the story was a bit unoriginal. Action shots with panty shots here and there, tsundere characters, predictable stereotypes, a clueless shounen hero who runs a life threatening harem….There wasn’t really anything new for me to pick out.

The artwork, although looking quite generic, was clear and complete and did not have any distortion or out of focus downfall.

THE OPENING CREDITS : Ehem. The ED credits were…..WHAT THE HECK?! O.O I really have no way to put how I feel in words, so you should check it out yourself. Although I do think that it compliments the comedy in the anime for some reason.

THE CONCLUSION : Date-A-Live came off as your standard harem story with adorably designed characters and humorous side characters but that’s about it…I can’t really see it as an anime that I will stick around to watch but something more as a medium in making good signatures or avatar set that I can be really devoted to. I will however give it a few more episodes before I make my final decision on whether the anime still catches my interest or not

I give Date A Live Ep.1 a rating of NYAA-GOOD! 3/5

Shingeki No Kyojin Episode 1

Image

I was lucky to be able to watch the pre-release in raw japanese last Wednesday, and I was soooooo happy to be able to review the subbed version today!! T_T

THE EPISODE : First of all, being the brilliant animation team Production I.G is, the artwork was AMAZING. From character lines, to scenery, to movement,the studio never seems to let me down. I was thrilled to see that the animators used the original manga designs on the anime. As you can see from the gif below, (which I still haven’t figured out how to make it automatically go off :/) the character lines are so crisp and full that it almost seems like your looking at an animated manga! It’s rare to see an anime be so similar to it’s predecessor or keep a manga’s tone and strength, but Shingeki no Kyojin did it!

Second, because the animation was superb, we as the viewers then become engulfed in the story. SPOILER ALERT>> Whether it was the scene where Eren’s mother is eaten alive (which i busted out in a never ending cycle of tears by the way) or when the 60 meter giant shows up, I could feel an immense amount of feeling being built up inside me. I felt fear, sadness, loneliness, curiosity….the story was so moving that it pained me (in a good way) to see just how beautifully it was put together.

Another thing I would like to point out is the cinematography. Oh my goodness! The focus, light, color completely covered the  mood of the story, being a heavy and depressing apocalyptic series and contributed to the overall tone of the episode. Props for I.G Production. Props for them indeed.

THE OPENING CREDITS : I really loved how the opening included some drawn scenes from the manga itself. Not only did it show the viewers of the action-packed setting of the series but also that the animators admired the original artwork from Hajime Isayama himself.

CONCLUSION :  I was astounded with the animation quality Production I.G had to offer. It was pure perfection. Although the first episode was a bit slow due to it only covering the first and half of chapter 2, the way the story of the anime unfolded made you get sucked into it’s pure awesomeness and begging for new episodes. If your looking for a fresh yet dark tone, brilliantly directed animation and breathtaking scenery, get your butt to the nearest online anime website or torrent you can find!

Plus, seeing Mikasa beating the crap out of Eren was so enjoying to watch. Mwahahaha!!

I give Shingeki no Kyojin Ep.1 a NYAA-AWESOME rating! 5/5

Aku no Hana Episode 1

Image

And the winner for most let down anime of 2013 (so far) is Aku no Hana. This is literally what I thought like after seeing the first ten seconds of the anime.

Here are just the differences in the manga and anime to prove my point. Oh goodness…they decided to go with rotoscoping….a technique from the early 1900’s.

ImageImage

Now, I don’t hate an anime being rotoscoped. Anastasia and Snow White by Walt Disney was rotoscoped as well, but look at how detailed shadow and color wise it was! This is just looked like a horrible dump-paint coloring you do on your computer class’s free time! The other problem is that the mouth movement, arm movement, (and whatever movement our body can do) do not match or flow with the character. It’s like I’m watching a very horrible dub of a Japanese live action film. Not to mention the story was sooooo slow compared to the anime. Weird right? Usually an anime is suppose to progress faster because….
1.) It’s a reason not to bore the viewers 2.) Animes tend to remove some material out to not have the content be too repetitive.
Urghhh. I’m sorry, after fifteen minutes into the anime, I just had to stop. T__T The horror!!
And for those out there who say that the artwork is unique… I do repect you for being able to like something like this, but for myself, I’m going to have to decline on all points. Being unique or having a different animation visual doesn’t necessarily make anime anime “Good”. For us readers, we don’t ask for “human-like” character designs, we just ask for an original storyline, less cheesy character lines, over the top “power of friendship” power-ups, or excessive irrelevant much fan service. Not….Badly colored in photoshop cartoons !! Don’t get me wrong. I love Aku no Hana as a manga, and after watching the anime, I’m temped to ONLY stick with the manga from now on.

THE CREDITS : I didn’t think it would get worse than this but….not only was the artwork horrible but the opening credits DID NOT MATCH THE THEME OF THE STORY AT ALL. *facepalm* I can’t…I don’t even…..

THE CONCLUSION : Go and read the manga. Just go. Please.

I give Aku No Hana Ep.1 (and the rest of the series) a NYAA-NO WAY! rating.  1/5

Suisei no Gargantia  Episode 1 and 2 Pre-release

I was lucky to snatch some snap shots from the raws of Suisei no Gargantia thanks to some friends over at seventh style!

After looking through the screen shots of the raw episodes, I had come to the conclusion that Suisei no Gargantia has a sort of “Slice of Life” addition to it.  There are scenes where our main protagonist, , is constantly trying to find a way to “fit in” with the Islanders and Amy, a optimistic and cheerful young lady who teaches Red (or Redo as it is pronounced in Japanese) of the beauty of living in a peaceful and “breathable” planet.

ImageImageImageImage

Although looking at the snapshots have made me feel prepared to step out of my comfort zone (of watching anime based SOLELY on Sci-Fic Mecha like gundam or Gurren Lagann) having a slice-of-life addition to it might not be such a bad idea. We still have to find out though!

The Good: Shingeki no Kyojin and Hataraku no Maou Sama!  stole the spot in this post.

Shingeki no Kyojin won the spotlight for having an amazing anime adaption with beautiful scenery and remarkable character outlines while Hataraku no Maou Sama! blew me away with their ditzy comedy as well as an overall interesting plot.

The Bad: check comment below.

The Ugly: Aku no Hana

Oh goodness! For the ugly (animation wise), I have to go with Aku no Hana. Not only was I disappointed on how much they changed the character’s distinct features and the manga author’s original artwork, but on how they emphasized the background SO much that they forgot about the characters themselves!! I could not get into this anime at all. A anime is great if they have beautiful scenery, but to do it while leaving the main characters looking like crap still equals a crappy animation, no questions asked.

✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿✿

As for Saya no Uta, Gargantia, Arata Kangatari and Spaceship Yamato, I’ll be sure to post another 1 episode review after watching all four series. I’m hoping to put up my 2013 Spring anime review part 2 up tomorrow morning or no later than midnight @__@ Sorry I have been away so long, and thank you so much for those who like and post comments on my reviews! It means so much to me that people are actually reading my horrible writing. T___T Thank you again!! *hails!!*

12 thoughts on “First Episode Reviews of 2013 Spring Anime!!

  1. Aku no Hana Is getting A lot of hate seriously A lot, For one I will have to agree with the hate… come on its just a complete abomination(Something tells me that’s the one you dropped). One more thing why is the background so detail and the characters are just…damn never mind.

    • Oh Goodness Cru3l, it was just pure torture to see. I mean…oh god. I’m supposing you watched it as well?

      Yes, I had to drop it. I just couldn’t concentrate on the story at all! I don’t know why they decided to go towards that route but it isn’t one I would like to explore.

      Exactly, not to be 2 dimensional but who watched an anime to see only the scenery anyway??
      Arghhhhhhhh!!

      • Exactly!! Gainax knew what it was doing when they animated their original series. Panty and Stoking, although having a simple line art to it had depth and likeliness. Gurren Lageen was amazing! Though their artwork was not something you would expect, the special effects and movement looked realistic and complete.

    • I saw a flier posted on an anime blog which stated the release dates and animation company. The director of Nitro+ also came out and spoke in an interview that 5 of his company’s VN are currently being animated.

      I’m starting to doubt it being released as well as I haven’t seen any news of it recently.
      Awww 😦 I would have loved seeing the scenes animated. Uhh….by scenes I meant the ones where Saya smiles… ^ ^ heh heh yeah yeah, that’s it!

  2. I found it quite confusing what devil survivor actually was. A sequel to something that already aired or something, because of the 2 in the title. But as I’ve read from your post it’s still a first season of some sort.
    From what I see, Aku no Hana sure is hated haha. I hope you’re going to cover Oreimo s2 in one of your next first impressions:p

    • Well, this is the strange thing. Devil Survivor 1 was never made into an anime. I don’t understand why, but it might be because of the high popularity DS2 received after it’s release.

      I have to say that I enjoy the game more than the actual episode because I somehow feel that they limited the overall feeling of playing the actual game yourself.

      ACKKK…Aku no Hana…I can’t even comprehend what I am feeling for the anime. I tried to go through it, I really did but…it was impossible T__T

      • Though the episode didn’t quite explain it more efficiently, it’d basically just summoning devils to have them fight for you and evolving them like pokemon.
        I’m guessing they didn’t make devil survivor 1 (DS1) because the story was more complicated than the first one.

        Yes, you can pick it up even if you didn’t play the games, but compared to the game version, the anime is somewhat so-so, but still a good watch nonetheless.

  3. =___= It is veryyyyyy weird….and just…urghhh

    If your interested in the series just stick with the manga. The anime just tore my hope for seeing my favorite characters animated….

    🙂 Shingeki no Kyojin is brilliant! The vivide colors the emotion, wow, I couldn’t ask for a better anime adaption!

Leave a Reply

